Graham Knight

Talking Steel and heat treatment.

Rate this Entry
To all enthusiasts…

Whether you are a veteran or a new comer to this game, should you have a question relating to steel or heat treatment and what sets steels apart from one another, I am sure that I will be able to assist. Should I not have the answer… I most certainly have the toys to get to the bottom of any pressing question. I own a Metallurgical Testing Laboratory based in Gauteng [url]www.mtlabs.co.za[/url] which is SANAS Accredited. This forwards me the opportunity to uncover issues that have previously been left unresolved.

One must remember that Metallurgy and Heat Treatment is a Science. This means that results need to be repeatable by definition.

Any issues… Blast away and I will do my best to assist.
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

I'm new to SA Blade and to read this is like Manna from heaven!!!!! Also a professional metallurgist with over 40 years spent gaining the knowledge one doesn't acquire at university, mostly in the steel heat treatment field, I find that most Knife Makers I chat with really don't have a clue when it comes to understanding steel, it's properties and heat treatment. I feel this is the heart of a good knife (especially one not destined to sit on the mantelpiece looking pretty) and I spend much time at club meetings assisting others to understand. Some of the practices I've seen at forging demonstrations leave me speechless!!! I've started publishing a few articles on my website
    ( http://www.grahamclarkeknives.co.za/blog-3/ ) which I hope you will all fine useful and like Graham above please feel free to bring out your queries into this forum or contact me directly through the website.